Legacy or Relationship?

Over the past few weeks, several pop culture icons in America have died, inciting hours upon hours of endless news coverage about every minute detail about their lives with Michael Jackson being the most notable. Due to Michael Jackson’s controversial lifestyle, many public debates have ensued over his legacy–and who knows if Michael Jackson was really that concerned about what people think about him now that he’s gone. However, Rabbi Shmuley Boteach wrote an illuminating piece on Michael Jackson’s inner soul entitled, “Master of an Empty Kingdom”, that may shed some light on what he thought about his legacy.

While most of us will probably never reach Michael Jackson’s iconic status, we do wonder about what’s going to be said about us at the end of our lives. But sometimes, that can distract us from what our focus should be. We must ask ourselves if we are we trying to build a legacy or nurture authentic relationships, the kind of relationships that make an impact on others long after they are gone?

I once had a conversation with a friend who told me that he was concerned about the legacy he was leaving behind. However, the reason he admitted he was ultimately concerned with his legacy was because many of his relationships were deteriorating. However, my friend is not alone. Many people focus on what they’re going to leave behind as opposed to fostering deep and meaningful relationships. But is that what we’re called to do as followers of Jesus?

Jesus knew what His legacy would be if He remained obedient to the call on His life. But it wasn’t about that for Jesus. It was about being present with people whenever He came face to face with others. Instead of seeing His life as a mission of get in, get on and get out, Jesus nurtured relationships with depth, relationships that resulted in a group of followers giving their very lives to see Jesus’ teaching and message advanced throughout the world.

Love ruled Jesus’ relationships—not favor or affirmation or works:

[Jesus said]: “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” – John 15:9-13

We, too, must let love rule our relationships. All the personal empires that we try to build are eventually just as shattered and broken as we are if we don’t allow the love of Christ to penetrate our hearts in such a way that we truly begin to love others, especially those we’re in relationship with.

Act.
Take time to call a few friends for no other purpose than to find out how they’re doing by asking them questions about their lives.

Pray. Father, help me to have a heart like Christ when it comes to relationships with others. Give me a heart of love for others. Amen.

3 Comments

Filed under Devotions

3 responses to “Legacy or Relationship?

  1. marty scherr

    Well said. Relationships is what it all about.

  2. Finally to around to reading your post!

    I agree, Jason. Simply stated, yet profound. Legacy is important. That’s why I’m doing “legacy workshops” and helping people write letters that form their connections to people with whom they have broken relationships, or mentor’s they want to celebrate. Our fast-paced world has stolen some of the simple points of connection that lead to intimate, caring, loving relationship.

  3. There was a time in my life where I used to say, “I don’t want a funeral”, this was not because I did not want one, or care if I had one, it was because of the embarrassment I would think about that no one would show up.
    This embarrassment was due to the fact that I had destroyed every relationship I had ever had, and I knew in my heart it would be an empty room. I did not even know if my wife and children would show up. I had no legacy worth leaving.
    These days are different, I am sure I am still difficult at times, but I would love to have a large funeral and truly be remembered. Not by what I have done, but by the change Christ gave me to give to others, that remembrance, the story and hope of a changed life in Christ and true love for others. Christ took stock in a relationship with me. He loved me, and I want to leave behind the same. I want the gift Christ gave me to permeate long after I am ashes and have it remembered and told to others in love and hope.

Leave a comment